Changing from consent to lease to buy to let
Hi
After moving in with my partner I kept on my previous flat and have let it out since last June. I applied for consent to lease from my lender which was approved. My mortgage stands at £32,000 and my flat was recently valued at £70,000. I wish to carry out work on my property and asked my lender for a loan in order to carry out this work which was refused on the grounds that I am letting it out. Would it be worthwhile to remortgage the flat as a buy to let in order to release some of the equity in it or should I just take out a normal bank loan to do this work. It seems rather silly given the equity in the property.
I am a newbie here so excuse my ignorance!
Thanks
hazle
Talk soon,
Joe Beaven
P.S. To get a free report that tells you exactly how to make sure you hire the best electrician for your needs in the UK, please enter your details below:


manish v Says:
I received an offer of employment from Western Geco Ltd. How can I know if this is a scam or not?
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 12:24 am
dawn2391 Says:
Did you apply or interview for the job? If not, then it probably is a scam. Nobody hires you without an interview unless you applied through a temporary service. Could they have had the wrong phone number maybe?
References :
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:26 am
Ghostgirl1991 Says:
don't you mean WesternGeco Ltd? My mum works there so its a real company
References :
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:28 am
nealo d Says:
This question pops up now and again on here- it's just another phishing scam, I'm afraid. Don't give them any personal information.
As ghostgirl says, Western Geco is a real company- but it is not they who have contacted you. (The yahoo.com email adress rather than the company name.com is a giveaway.)
References :
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:30 am
claimbankchargesback Says:
The general rule of thumb with things like this, is that if you even need to ask if it could be a hoax - Its a Hoax!
Follow that rule and you won't get caught out!
References :
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:32 am
Rebecca Says:
well did you apply to them for a job?
if not then it's likely to be some sort of scam - like someone said if you need to ask then it probably is!
why not find a number for the company from 192.com/yell.com etc and speak to someone there about it just to set your mind at rest.
References :
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:34 am
choski Says:
I have had a quick look on the internet an found some interesting reading. From what I can find it does look like a scam. They say that they are offering you employment but to process your "documents" and legal immigration paperwork etc then they will require a fee of something like £900. It also seems that alot of the email address used are fakes. Have a look at some of the comments on the website links below. Alternatively type "Western Geco Ltd" into google and you will see for yourself. Good luck but I would be very cautious.
References :
http://www.expatengineer.net/blog.nsf/dx/pan-europe-immigrant-konsult.htm?opendocument&comments#anc1
http://forum.scambaits.com/showthread.php?p=26594
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:36 am
Steve B Says:
Easy :-
1) Did you apply for a Job with them ?
No = it's a scam
2) Could they have your contact details from a legitimate source (i.e. did you give them out to an Agency etc ?)
No = it's a scam
3) Is the 'Reply to' address @ the Company ?
(ie. "name@WesternGeco.co.uk (or @WesternGeco.com) ?
No = it's a scam ..
4) Did they ask for your CV ?
No = it's a scam
5) Have you attended an INTERVIEW with them ?
No = it's a scam
No sane Company offers Jobs to random people based on their email address - if they never even saw your CV and you never went for interview it's an obvious SCAM.
Sorry
References :
Posted on January 15th, 2009 at 5:38 am